saasrankedSoftware, ranked on the facts

disk partition manager · IM-Magic

IM-Magic Partition Resizer

Windows partition resizer with a free home edition and a Pro edition for 2 PCs, priced at $29.99 on its buy page.

74/100

#5 of 12 disk partition managers
Facts checked 9 Oct 2026

In short

IM-Magic suits home users who want resize, move, merge, OS migration and disk cloning without paying1,3. Pro adds boot media for $29.99 on two PCs on the buy page2,4. The catch: pages show different Pro prices, and name no split, partition recovery or FAT32 to NTFS feature1,2,3,4.

Best for: Home users who want free resizing, OS migration and disk cloning.

Where the points come from

Partition tools14 of 26
Disks and system26 of 31
Safety and media12 of 15
Price and licence22 of 28

Partition tools 14 of 26 points

RuleWhat is publishedPoints
Resize and move partitionsYesFree edition extends, shrinks and moves partitions without destroying data1.8 / 8
Merge partitionsYesFree edition merges partitions; the comparison table lists Merge for every edition1,3.4 / 4
Give free space to another partitionNot publishedNot published on the vendor's feature pages1,3,4.0 / 3
Split a partitionNot publishedNot published on the vendor's feature pages1,3,5.0 / 4
Convert FAT32 to NTFSNot publishedNot published: pages list only NTFS to FAT32 conversion1,4.0 / 3
File systems namedNTFS, FAT32Pro page and specs page list NTFS, FAT16 and FAT32; exFAT and Ext4 are not named4,5.2 / 4

Disks and system 26 of 31 points

RuleWhat is publishedPoints
Convert MBR and GPT without data lossYesHome page: 'Convert mbr to gpt disk without losing data (Non-OS disk)'. GPT to MBR is not described1.8 / 8
Migrate Windows to another driveYesFree edition includes a Migrate OS Wizard under Tools1.8 / 8
Clone a whole diskYesFree edition clones disks1.7 / 7
Recover lost partitionsNot publishedNot published: the home page does not describe a partition recovery feature1,3.0 / 5
Disks over 2 TBYesSpecs page: maximum 16 TB on GPT disks and 2 TB on MBR disks5.3 / 3

Safety and media 12 of 15 points

RuleWhat is publishedPoints
Bootable disc or USBYesPro works in WinPE and lists bootable CD support; Free has none1,4.7 / 7
Protection if an operation is interruptedYesRollback protection restores partitions if a task is interrupted1.5 / 5
Open sourceNot publishedNot published on the vendor's pages; no source repository is linked1,5.0 / 3

Price and licence 22 of 28 points

RuleWhat is publishedPoints
Free editionYesFree edition for home users extends, shrinks and moves partitions1,3.8 / 8
Cheapest paid edition$29.99/yrPro on the buy page: 'Now $29.99' price graphic, 'Usually $49.99', one code for 2 PCs; other pages show $592,3.10 / 10
One-time licenceNot publishedNot published: the Pro pages do not state a licence term; only Server, Unlimited and Technician are called lifetime or one-time2,3,4.0 / 6
Money-back period of 30 days or moreYesBuy page lists a 60-day money-back policy for Pro2,4.4 / 4

The rule behind each line: how we score disk partition managers.

Plans and prices

As the vendor lists them, before tax. Prices are in US dollars unless the plan shows euros; the points use US dollars, with euros converted at the ECB rate.

PlanPrice as listedPer monthNotes
FreeHome usersFree1,3$0Disks up to 16 TB; no bootable media
Pro2 PCs$29.992,3,4–Adds WinPE bootable media; licence term not stated; usually $49.99 per buy page; edition pages show $59

The buy page shows 'Usually $49.99' and a 'Now $29.99' price graphic; the Pro page and edition comparison show $59. We use the buy page. The vendor does not state the Pro licence term2,3,4.

Strengths

  • Free edition includes OS migration and disk cloning1.
  • Rollback protection restores partitions if a task is interrupted1.
  • Pro covers 2 PCs with one code and offers a 60-day money-back policy2,4.
  • Supports GPT disks up to 16 TB on Free5.

Limits

  • Pro prices differ by page: $29.99 on the buy page, $59 on the Pro and edition pages2,3,4.
  • Bootable media is not in the Free edition1.
  • Pages name no split, no partition recovery and no FAT32 to NTFS conversion, only NTFS to FAT321,3,4.
  • MBR to GPT conversion on Free is limited to non-OS disks, and no page describes GPT to MBR1.

What IM-Magic says

Vendor claims. We show them, but they earn no points.

  • IM-Magic says its Pro and Free editions resize partitions with no data loss4.

Other disk partition managers

  1. 1
    EaseUS Partition MasterPeople who want one paid licence for two PCs with a rollback safeguard
    92/100
    $49.95/yrcheapest paid edition
  2. 2
    AOMEI Partition AssistantPeople who want a long refund window and a one-time licence for 2 PCs
    87/100
    $49.95/yrcheapest paid edition
  3. 3
    4DDiG Partition ManagerPeople who want one paid tool for resizing, migrating and converting disks
    78/100
    $40.95/yrcheapest paid edition
  4. 4
    NIUBI Partition EditorPeople who want a low one-time price and a rollback feature
    77/100
    $39/yrcheapest paid edition

All 12 disk partition managers

Sources

  1. IM-Magic Partition Resizer Free, IM-Magic. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
  2. Buy Partition Resizer Pro, IM-Magic. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
  3. Compare editions, IM-Magic. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
  4. Partition Resizer Pro, IM-Magic. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
  5. Partition Resizer specs, IM-Magic. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.

Website: www.resize-c.com · Markdown version · We are not affiliated with IM-Magic.