---
title: Olark
canonical: https://saasranked.com/software/olark/
category: Live Chat Software
points: 44
rank: 12 of 12
facts_checked: 2026-10-09
---

# Olark

Website chat priced per agent, now sold alongside an AI agent that answers visitors.

44 points out of 100. #12 of 12 live chat tools. Vendor: Olark. Website: https://www.olark.com/

- Live Chat without AI costs $29 per agent a month, so 3 agents come to $87 a month [1].
- There is no free plan. Olark offers a 14-day trial of Live Chat [1].
- The AI Website Agent plan costs $400 a month, billed yearly, with one human agent seat and $29 for each extra agent [1].
- Olark offers a data processing agreement on request, sent by email [5].
- Agent groups, routing rules, shortcuts shared by the team and offline messages are all listed [4][8][10].

Verdict: Olark suits small teams that accept paying per agent and want routing rules, team shortcuts and a webhook feed [1][4][8][10]. Three agents cost $87 a month on the plain Live Chat plan [1]. The catch: there is no free plan, no official phone app (mobile use runs through third-party apps) and no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 on its GDPR or security pages [1][5][6][7]. Best for: Small teams that want paid live chat priced per agent.

## Points

| Criterion | Line | Value | Points | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free plan | No | 0/8 | The pricing page lists a paid Live Chat plan and a 14-day trial, with no free plan [1]. |
| Price | Cost for 3 agents | $87/mo | 3/12 | Live Chat at $29 per agent a month, times 3 agents; the page shows a single price [1]. |
| Chat handling | Chat history kept | Not published | 0/5 | Not published on the vendor's pricing or features pages [1][4]. |
| Chat handling | Shared saved replies | Yes | 4/4 | Administrators create Team Shortcuts that all agents on the account share [8]. |
| Chat handling | Routing rules | Yes | 8/8 | The features page lists agent groups, routing rules and chat limits per agent [4]. |
| Chat handling | Offline message form | Yes | 4/4 | The features page says the widget captures messages when the team is away; the webhook guide covers offline messages [4][10]. |
| Visitors | Visitor location shown | Yes | 3/3 | The features page says agents see location; the API docs list approximate city and country for a visitor [4][11]. |
| Visitors | Live visitor list | Not published | 0/5 | A help article mentions a console visitor list but does not say it updates in real time [9]. |
| Visitors | Proactive chat invitations | Yes | 5/5 | The features page says chats start when your rules are met; the help article gives rules on page URL and seconds on page [4][12]. |
| Apps and channels | Agent apps | None | 0/6 | Help lists third-party apps (Trillian, Xabber, Monal), not official ones, and says Olark's own mobile beta is deprecated [7]. |
| Apps and channels | Other channels in the inbox | None | 0/8 | The integrations page lists no email, WhatsApp, Messenger or Instagram inbox channel [3]. WhatsApp/SMS appear on the features page without inbox detail [4]. |
| Data and trust | SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 | Not published | 0/6 | Not published on the vendor's GDPR or security pages [5][6]. |
| Data and trust | Data processing agreement | Yes | 4/4 | Olark's GDPR page says to email for its standard DPA to be signed [5]. |
| Data and trust | Two-factor sign-in for agents | Not published | 0/4 | Not published on the vendor's pages [4][6]. |
| Connections | Named integrations | Shopify, WordPress, WooCommerce, Zapier | 4/6 | Listed on the integrations page. Slack is marked beta, so it does not count; Wix is not listed [3]. |
| Connections | Public API or webhooks | Yes | 4/4 | A webhook guide documents HTTP POSTs of chat transcripts and optional events [10]. |
| Connections | Remove vendor branding | Not published | 0/3 | Not published on the vendor's pages [1][4]. |
| Connections | AI agent for chat | Yes | 5/5 | The Standard AI Website Agent plan is sold at $400 a month and answers visitors from your site [1][2]. |

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Per month (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | $29/agent/month [1] | $29 |
| Standard AI Website Agent | $400/month [1] | $400 |

The page shows one price for Live Chat and does not state a billing term. Three agents at $29 each cost $87 a month [1].

## Strengths

- Agent groups, routing rules and per-agent chat limits are listed among the features [4].
- Administrators can create team shortcuts that all agents share [8].
- A webhook sends each finished chat transcript, and messages left offline, to your own endpoint [10].
- The integrations page lists Shopify, WordPress, WooCommerce and Zapier [3].
- A standard data processing agreement is available on request [5].

## Limits

- No free plan: only a 14-day trial of Live Chat [1].
- Olark lists third-party apps for phones, not its own, and says its mobile beta is deprecated [7].
- The Slack integration is marked beta on the integrations page [3].
- Custom changes to the data processing agreement need the Pro plan [5].
- The pricing page does not state how long chat history is kept [1].

## Vendor claims (not scored)

- Olark says it is trusted by 12,000+ businesses since 2009 [2].

## Sources

1. [Olark pricing](https://www.olark.com/pricing), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
2. [Olark home page](https://www.olark.com/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
3. [Olark integrations](https://www.olark.com/integrations), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
4. [Olark features](https://www.olark.com/features/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
5. [Olark GDPR](https://www.olark.com/gdpr/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
6. [Olark vulnerability disclosure policy](https://www.olark.com/security), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
7. [Olark mobile chat](https://www.olark.com/help/mobile/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
8. [Send messages faster with shortcuts](https://www.olark.com/help/shortcuts/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
9. [Why is my visitor list empty?](https://www.olark.com/help/empty-buddylist/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
10. [Webhooks integration guide](https://www.olark.com/help/webhooks/), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
11. [Olark API: visitor details](https://www.olark.com/api/api_visitor_getdetails), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
12. [Olark proactive messages](https://www.olark.com/help/proactive-messages), Olark, accessed 2026-10-09
