
knowledge base software · Archbee
Archbee
Hosted documentation platform for product docs and help centres, with spaces, a review system and per-seat pricing.
In short
- There is no free plan, only a 14-day free trial with no credit card1.
- Growing starts at $80 a month and Scaling at $350, as shown with annual billing selected1.
- Extra team members are charged; readers are free and unlimited1.
- Review system, search analytics and localization start at Scaling; revision history is kept 1 year on Growing and 2 on Scaling1,2,3,4.
- Archbee says it is SOC 2 Type 2 certified1.
Archbee suits product-documentation teams that want a hosted help centre with a custom domain and revision history from $80 a month1,2. The Reviewer approval flow, search reports and translations need Scaling at $350 a month, and SAML sign-on needs a quoted Enterprise plan1,3,4. There is no free plan, the page does not state how many editors the starting prices include, and the platform's source code is not among the vendor's public repositories13.
Best for: Product teams that need review rules and a docs widget.
Where the points come from
Price 6 of 18 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | $80/moGrowing, from $80 a month with annual billing selected; editors included not stated, extra members charged1. | 6 / 12 |
| Free plan | NoFAQ: a free offering is not available at the moment; a 14-day trial, and a free Growing plan for open source projects only1. | 0 / 6 |
Publishing 28 of 28 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Help centre on your own domain | YesPricing comparison lists custom domain publishing on Growing, Scaling and Enterprise1. | 8 / 8 |
| Multiple languages | YesScaling lists localization; a translation is a linked version of a space1,8. Enterprise adds AI-assisted translations1. | 7 / 7 |
| Article version history | YesDocument revision history compares versions and restores any; Growing and above2. | 6 / 6 |
| Review and approval workflow | YesReview system: drafts go to a Reviewer role who merges or discards; listed under Scaling1,3. | 7 / 7 |
Readers and reports 8 of 18 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Search reports | Not publishedShows queries and documents returned per keyword; the docs do not say zero-result searches are listed4. | 0 / 6 |
| Reader feedback on articles | YesReaders vote and comment on each page; votes and comments appear in Document Feedback5. | 4 / 4 |
| Help widget for your site or app | YesEmbed code from Widget integration shows articles or the whole portal inside a product6. | 4 / 4 |
| Login-only articles | Not publishedNot published for single articles; docs describe password, magic-link, JWT and SAML access for whole spaces7. | 0 / 4 |
Access and data 23 of 28 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC) | YesEnterprise lists SAML and OIDC SSO; docs cover Okta, Azure and Google SAML setup1,9. | 7 / 7 |
| API to read and write articles | YesPublic API has an Update / Create document endpoint10. | 7 / 7 |
| Bulk export of articles | YesFAQ: export one document or the whole organization's content as Markdown or PDF; organization export API1,11. | 5 / 5 |
| Editor roles and permissions | YesSuperadmin, Administrators, Team members and custom groups, plus a Reviewer role3,12. | 4 / 4 |
| Open source | Not publishedNot published: the vendor's public GitHub repositories are forks, starter kits and demo docs, not the platform13. | 0 / 5 |
Security 8 of 8 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 | YesPricing FAQ says Archbee is SOC 2 Type 2 and GDPR certified1. | 8 / 8 |
The rule behind each line: how we score knowledge base tools.
Plans and prices
As the vendor lists them, before tax. Prices are in US dollars unless the plan shows euros; the points use US dollars, with euros converted at the ECB rate.
| Plan | Price as listed | Per month | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| GrowingGrowing teams | From $80/month1 | $80 | Custom domain, revision history, API; shown with annual billing selected |
| ScalingScaling companies | From $350/month1 | $350 | Adds review system, localization, search analytics |
| EnterpriseLarge organisations | Custom pricing1 | Quote | Adds SAML and OIDC single sign-on |
Prices are 'starting at', shown with the annual billing option selected. The page does not say how many editors they cover1. Archbee says annual subscriptions carry a 20% discount14.
Strengths
- Reviewer role: drafts can only be merged or discarded by reviewers before publishing3.
- Revision history compares versions and restores any of them, on Growing and above2.
- Readers can vote and comment on each page, and feedback is reported to editors5.
- An embeddable widget shows chosen articles or the whole portal inside a product6.
- A public API can create or update documents10.
Limits
- No free plan; the FAQ says a free offering is not available at the moment1.
- The pricing page states no editor count for the starting prices, and extra team members are charged1.
- Search analytics, localization and the review system are not on Growing1,4.
- Access control is set per space; no per-article login restriction is documented7.
- No platform source code appears among the vendor's public repositories, which are forks, starter kits and demos13.
Other knowledge base tools
- 1
ProProfs Knowledge BaseVery small teams that want to start free and pay per author81/100$49/mocheapest paid plan - 2
GitBookProduct and developer documentation teams that want change requests and Git sync77/100$77/mocheapest paid plan - 4
HelpjuiceCompanies that want an editorial review step and an API and can pay a flat fee70/100$249/mocheapest paid plan - 5
Document360Teams that want custom workflow statuses, reader groups and SSO and are happy to get a quote70/100Not publishedcheapest paid plan
Archbee vs ProProfs Knowledge Base · Archbee vs GitBook · All 11 knowledge base tools
Sources
- Archbee Pricing, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Document history, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Draft & Reviews System, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Search Analytics, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Document Feedback, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- App documentation widget, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Public Access Controls, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Localization, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- SAML Integration, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Update / Create document, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Organization Export, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Manage the Organization, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Archbee on GitHub, GitHub. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Subscriptions & Payment, Archbee. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
Website: www.archbee.com · Markdown version · We are not affiliated with Archbee.