
AI customer service agent · Freshworks Inc.
Freddy AI Agent
Freshdesk's built-in AI agent for email and chat, billed in packs of sessions.
In short
- Extra sessions cost $49 per 100, so 500 sessions a month is $245 before the agent seat1.
- The agent is a feature of Freshdesk Growth ($19 per agent a month, billed annually), Pro and Enterprise1.
- Each paid plan includes the first 500 sessions, limited to once per account1.
- Email agents count a 72-hour window from the customer's first email as one session1.
- G2's Customer Experience evaluations page lists FreshChat at 52, marked as a partner benchmark (Swept)8. Its General CX leaderboard lists Freshworks eighth of 9 agents, with 105 points, 72% accuracy and 70% policy compliance9.
Freddy AI Agent suits teams that already use or plan to use Freshdesk, since it is sold as a feature of Growth, Pro and Enterprise plans1,4. Extra sessions cost $49 per 100, and the docs describe draft and active states, testing and handover with context1,2,4. The catch: it is not sold alone, and SMS and voice are not mentioned as channels in the docs1,2.
Best for: Teams on Freshdesk who want an AI agent inside their help desk.
Where the points come from
Price 9 of 18 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan or free trial | none500 free sessions once per account; the page does not state that no card is needed, and paying by card is required to continue1. | 0 / 3 |
| Cost of 500 AI resolutions a month | $264/mo5 × $49 per 100 sessions = $245, plus one Growth seat at $19 a month the agent needs1. | 9 / 12 |
| Pay only for resolved conversations | NoPricing is per session, a unique interaction, not per resolved conversation1. | 0 / 3 |
Channels and integrations 9 of 18 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Channels the agent answers on | Email, Live chat, WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger or InstagramEmail agents; chat agents on web chat, WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram and Messenger. SMS and voice are not mentioned2. | 8 / 12 |
| Sold without the vendor’s own help desk | NoListed only as a feature of Freshdesk Growth, Pro and Enterprise; the agent works in the Freshdesk inbox1,4. | 0 / 2 |
| Works with named help desks | FreshdeskThe agent runs in Freshdesk's own ticket inbox; Zendesk, Salesforce and HubSpot are not named4. | 1 / 4 |
What it learns from 4 of 6 points
Actions and control 21 of 24 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Takes actions in connected systems | YesWorkflows can use Actions Library integrations and reusable API actions; no beta label shown2. | 7 / 7 |
| Hands over to a human | Not publishedDocs say agents escalate to a human agent, preserving context; passing the conversation history is not stated2. | 0 / 3 |
| Guardrails on answers | YesInstructions set response boundaries and topics to avoid; confidence threshold and daily limits apply2,4. | 3 / 3 |
| Test before going live | YesPreview uses the draft setup; Evaluate runs bulk tests of up to 50 queries4. | 5 / 5 |
| Versioning or approval of changes | YesNew agents start in Draft and deployment moves them to Active, a draft-and-publish flow4. | 3 / 3 |
| Reporting on the agent | YesAnalyze stage covers metrics and logs; Session Usage Summary Report tracks sessions2. | 3 / 3 |
Data protection 8 of 14 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 | YesTrust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2 reports and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certificates5. | 6 / 6 |
| HIPAA agreement | Not publishedFreshworks signs a BAA for Freshdesk, but the guide does not mention AI features6. | 0 / 2 |
| GDPR data processing agreement | YesTrust Center lists a Data Processing Agreement as available5. | 2 / 2 |
| Choice of data region | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's security page7. | 0 / 2 |
| Customer data not used to train models | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's Trust Center or security page; Trust Center only names AI model providers in subprocessors5,7. | 0 / 2 |
Independent testing 10 of 20 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| G2 AI CX evaluation | 105 of 200G2, October 2026: 105 of 200 (Freshworks).10 | 10 / 20 |
The rule behind each line: how we score AI customer service agents.
Plans and prices
As the vendor lists them, before tax. Prices are in US dollars unless the plan shows euros; the points use US dollars, with euros converted at the ECB rate.
| Plan | Price as listed | Per month | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freshdesk GrowthPer agent | $19 per agent a month, billed annually1 | $19 | Includes Freddy AI Agent and the first 500 sessions |
| Freshdesk ProPer agent | $55 per agent a month, billed annually1 | $55 | Includes Freddy AI Agent and the first 500 sessions |
| Freshdesk EnterprisePer agent | $89 per agent a month, billed annually1 | $89 | Includes Freddy AI Agent and the first 500 sessions |
| Additional AI Agent sessionsAdd-on | $49 per 100 sessions1 | – | Session packs are valid for your payment cycle |
The pricing page shows plan prices billed annually and no monthly figure for Growth1. The $49 session pack is read as a monthly cost; the page says packs are valid for the payment cycle1.
Strengths
- Sessions cost $49 per 100 on top of the plan1.
- Learns from solution articles, public URLs and PDF, DOCX or TXT files3.
- New agents start in Draft and move to Active on deployment; preview and bulk evaluation run before launch4.
- Hands over to a human agent while preserving context2.
- Names SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022, plus a Data Processing Agreement5.
Other AI customer service agents
- 1
Lyro AI AgentSmall stores that want a priced-by-conversation AI agent71/100$291.67/mocost of 500 AI resolutions a month - 2
Fini AITeams that want per-resolution billing and the agent working inside their existing help desk65/100$370.83/mocost of 500 AI resolutions a month - 3
Fin AI AgentTeams that already run a help desk and want to pay per outcome62/100$495/mocost of 500 AI resolutions a month - 5
Kommunicate AI AgentsSmall teams that want a low-cost agent with a 30-day trial and no card58/100$37.75/mocost of 500 AI resolutions a month
Sources
- Freshdesk pricing, Freshworks. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Introduction to AI Agent Studio, Freshdesk Support. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Build and curate knowledge for AI agents, Freshdesk Support. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Email AI Agent setup and configuration, Freshdesk Support. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Freshworks Trust Center, Freshworks. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- HIPAA Configuration Guide, Freshdesk Support. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Freshworks security, Freshworks. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Customer Experience agent evaluations, G2. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- AI CX Agent Evaluations: General CX leaderboard, G2. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- AI CX Agent Evaluations, General CX leaderboard, G2. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
Website: www.freshworks.com · Markdown version · We are not affiliated with Freshworks Inc..